Skip to content ↓



The National Curriculum sets out the stages and core subjects your child will be taught during their time at school. Children aged five to 16 in 'maintained' or state schools must be taught the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum is a framework used by all maintained schools to ensure that teaching and learning is balanced and consistent.

It sets out:

  • the subjects taught
  • the knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject
  • standards or attainment targets in each subject - teachers can use these to measure your child's progress and plan the next steps in their learning
  • how your child's progress is assessed and reported

Within the framework of the National Curriculum, schools are free to plan and organise teaching and learning in the way that best meets the needs of their pupils.

Many schools use the Qualifications and Curriculum Development Agency (QCDA) Schemes of Work to plan their curriculum. These help to translate the National Curriculum’s objectives into teaching and learning activities.
For more information click here